Last Call

I’ve mentioned before that I planned to get rid of old skins and I’m finally going to do it.  They will go poof on August 1st.  And if you are interested in the emoness behind it, read on.

So it’s been ages since I had a new release.. and if you’ve kept up with my shop, you know that releases have slowed to a trickle over the past few months.  I’ve been feeling really conflicted about my shop for a while now and it’s been wreaking havoc on what I consider the fun in Second Life.  Suffice it to say, I’ve been slow to release things because everything I’ve released since my Retro Pinup skins has been a total failure.  So I’ve been really kinda scared to release new stuff because, well, nobody likes to see their hard work so poorly received.  Lame, I know, but I’m full of hangups.  I’ve contemplated just closing up shop completely but I’m just not quite ready to do that yet.  So, instead of closing down, I’m going to finally pull up all of my old stuff.  I need a fresh start.  Those skins, while still pretty to look at, were made when I first got started and knew absolutely zero about Photoshop, SL and quality.  While I’m still pretty much a noob, I think my quality is vastly improved.  So those things no longer are an accurate representation of what I’m trying to do.  And I also feel like the majority of my new releases are being completely ignored in favor of rummaging around in the clearance bin.  So, it’s the end of an era and the beginning of a new one.  Regardless of where things continue to go, it’s a step in a much needed new direction for me and hopefully I can get back to enjoying SL again. 🙂

13 responses to “Last Call

  1. I still think your work is incredible, and I recommend you to any of my friends that will listen! (a LOT)
    Your skins have gotten me noticed plenty of times, so I think if anything it is more a lack of publicity than it is liking them.

    I’ve even bought a lot of your older skins and used them as bases for some great fantasy AVs I have.

    Please don’t get too discouraged!

  2. Yeah, your work is really good. a lot of my avatars use your skins and several of my friends use your skins as well and like them a lot. I made a demon av with your diabolical skin, my best friend made a really nice orc avatar with your witch skin and i use the tan nexus skin a lot because i think the freckles are just so cute 🙂 (and thats just a few examples)
    Some of the skins you make are pretty specialized, so maybe people have a hard time figuring out what to do with them. Perhaps having some pictures of your skins used by avatars could people some inspiration.
    Your skins ARE all top quality though, often better than skins costing over ten times what youre asking for them, so dont criticize your work so much, i for one love your stuff and will continue to use it.

  3. I’m embarrassed that I’ve not been to your store in some time, but very happy indeed that I got the wonderful Trickster Lyric Peach while it’s still available and showed it off, mentioning source and your sale, in my blog. Thank you very much, and I will be sure to visit more frequently.

  4. Any true artist/builder/creator is their own worst critic. Your skins are amazing. Don’t doubt that at all. I own pretty much all of your goth skins and thoroughly live in them. In fact I don’t even keep skins from hunts because they aren’t close to how I like to look. A friend of mine once called your skins soft and realistic, even as pale as they are. it’s gorgeous. And I wait constantly for new releases. Please come back to it! It’s rare for me to find designers I am so hard up to follow and wait wait wait for! [Yes I am being selfish! I want you making more gorgeous skins because I am rather vain of my avis appearance. that said please!! *begs*]

  5. I’m really sorry you’re having such a rough time with it, but I totally understand! As a writer, I am always my worst critic and it is painful to have your blood, sweat, and tears – not to mention heart & soul – poured into your creation (your “baby” for all intents and purposes) and not have it well-received. I console myself with a quote I first read when I was 12 years-old and harshly critiquing my writing even then:

    “The greater the artist, the greater the doubt. Perfect confidence is granted to the less talented as a consolation prize.”
    – Robert Hughes

    I have just found your skins (via Flickr) and *love* them. As I commented on Flickr, I just had to go in-world and do some skin-shopping (I would hope my spending spree serves to show you that, indeed, some people think your skins are *amazing* and well worth buying in bulk!). In fact, I wore one of your Retro skins for the latest outfit I posted on my fashion blog (Izzy Chic). I can only hope that brings you some well-deserved traffic (though my blog is pretty low on the radar, lol). Still, I have lots of friends that would be delighted to find your store; it’s certainly one of those hidden, little secrets – a diamond in the rough.

    I can understand when a craft becomes more “work” than “joy” in SL, and that’s no good. But I hope that if that is not the only reason you are feeling disillusioned about skin-making, you will consider getting back into it at some point. I really think your skins are quality and deserving of recognition (I sure intend to do my part in spreading the word!), and it would be a loss for the metaverse if you dropped out of the skin game at this point.

    Forgive the blathering, I am just sorely disappointed to see you thinking of leaving, and I soo understand the conflict an artist feels when they bare their soul (via their art) to the world, only to be greeted by not much more than the chirping of crickets! Stay strong and true to yourself and your art. Take some time off and see how you feel, but I do so hope that you will continue – even if sparingly – to share your talents with the metaverse.

    • Thank you so much for the sweet comment Izzy! I’m finally working on getting back into it. I finally purged some of my old things and decided to close up shop for a few days to redo the whole thing, give it a fresh start and hopefully it’ll be the kick start I needed! 😀

  6. Pingback: Little Bit of Elegance : Izzy Chic

  7. Pingback: Nocturne Fashion Feed » Blog Archive » Little Bit of Elegance

  8. Pingback: Little Bit of Elegance « iheartsl.com Second Life’s largest community blog

  9. Oh, Fricka, that is *wonderful* news!! Please let me know when the new shop is up so that I can feature some of the new skins on my blog – I am a total fangirl now! ;P

    You’re totally welcome; I just understood – as a fellow artist – how you felt. I am so glad you’ve decided to get back into the game and are doing it all over; a fresh start. I just know you’ll fall in love with it all over again!

  10. I’m sad to hear that your newer releases weren’t being received very well. I buy at least one of everything I don’t have when I go t your shop, and I’ve never been disappointed, not with your old stuff, not with your new stuff.

    I *totally* understand cleaning out the old stuff. I need to do it with my rl artwork, because it really is *baggage* for me, blockage, an obstacle. So I know how it feels.

    But I’m with everyone else here – your work is incredible! Don’t let the whim of the SL economy tell you otherwise. 😉

Leave a Reply

